LD Debater!

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
LD Debater!

A forum for high school Lincoln-Douglas debate.

4 posters

Best Justifications?

JohnnyFontane
    Elimination Rounds
    Elimination Rounds

Best Justifications? Empty Best Justifications?

Post  JohnnyFontane Sun Jul 19, 2009 5:40 pm

Can someone explain what the "best justifications" philosophy to LD is? How does it differ from comparing worlds/truth testing? Why should we prefer it over the others?
    W. Marble
    Dedicated Minion
    Dedicated Minion

Best Justifications? Empty Re: Best Justifications?

Post  W. Marble Sun Jul 19, 2009 6:22 pm

JohnnyFontane wrote:Can someone explain what the "best justifications" philosophy to LD is? How does it differ from comparing worlds/truth testing? Why should we prefer it over the others?
    http://victorybriefsdaily.com/2008/04/15/truth-comparison-and-justification-in-ld-debate/
    I'm no expert on it (I haven't read the article in a while), but I think it's more closely related to truth testing than anything.
    Alex Bennett
    Alex Bennett
    Dedicated Minion
    Dedicated Minion

Post  Alex Bennett Wed Jul 22, 2009 6:53 am

As far as I know, its an attempt to solve the supposed theoretical problems with truth testing comparatvists have with.
    JamesM

Post  JamesM Sat Jul 25, 2009 3:45 am

As far as I know, theoretical problems should be solved with theory. There is nothing inherently theoretically illegitimate about the offense/defense model, people just dont apply it correctly. The model proposed by this article is extremely vague and not nearly comprehensive enough. The only way to really address the 'problems' we are seeing in LD debates is by:
    1. moving away from the value/criterion to something more like the offense/defense paradigm
    2. changing the resolution so it reflects that model